General Election 2017: Hackney Council publishes final list of candidates

PUBLISHED: 12:05 12 May 2017 | UPDATED: 20:49 08 June 2017

Candidates so far announced, all of whom will be invited to the hustings: clockwise from top left, Meg Hillier (Lab), Rebecca Johnson (Green), Luke Parker (Con) and Dave Raval (Lib Dem).

Candidates so far announced, all of whom will be invited to the hustings: clockwise from top left, Meg Hillier (Lab), Rebecca Johnson (Green), Luke Parker (Con) and Dave Raval (Lib Dem).

Hackney Council/Green Party/Conservative Party/Lib Dem Party

The final list of nominations for next months’ general election has been published by Hackney Council.

Six hopefuls are opposing Labour’s Diane Abbott for the seat she has held for 30 years in Hackney North and Stoke Newington.

Ms Abbott won a landslide victory for the seat in 2015 with 31,357 votes – more than 24,000 more than her nearest rival, Amy Gray for the Conservatives, who is also standing again this year.

Entries have been submitted from the Animal Welfare Party and the Friends Party and there is one independent candidate.

Shahahandria Khan, standing for the Friends Party, lives furthest away in Ilford.

The full list of candidates is as follows: Diane Abbott (Labour), Alastair Binnie-Lubbock (Green), Shahahandria Khan (Friends Party), Amy Gray (Conservative), Jonathan Homan (Animal Welfare Party), Joseph Richards (Lib Dems), Abraham Spielmann (Independent)

Meanwhile there are nine opponents for the incumbent, Labour’s Meg Hillier, in Hackney South and Shoreditch.

In 2015 Ms Hillier took home 30,633 votes, outstripping her rivals by more than 25,000 votes.

Three of the candidates are standing on an independent platform.

Mr Sugg - a homeless campaigner who was once homeless himself - raised £570 on the JustGiving fundraising platform to cover the £500 deposit needed to stand as a candidate.

All 10 candidates reside in Hackney apart from the Animal welfare Party’s Vanessa Hudson who lives in Tower Hamlets, and the Tory’s Luke Parker who lives in Richmond.

The full list of candidates is as follows: Russell Shaw Higgs (Independent), Meg Hillier (Labour), Vanessa Hudson (Animal Welfare Party), Rebecca Johnson (Green), Dale Kalamazad (Independent), Jonty Leff (Worker’s Revolutionary Party), Luke Parker (Conservative), Dev Raval (Lib Dems), Hugo Sugg (Independent) and Angel Watt (Christian People’s Alliance).

On May 22 the De Beauvoir Association is holding a hustings for Hackney South and Shoreditch . It takes place at 7.30pm at St Peter’s Church in Northchurch Street, De Beauvoir.

Latest Hackney Stories


North London Chorus continues its 40th anniversary season with Zurich’s Contrapunto Chor, who are currently celebrating their own 30th birthday.


Arsenal will be aiming to seal their position at the top of their UEFA Europa League group on Thursday when they visit rock-bottom Cologne.


Working to support young people from disadvantaged backgrounds was the focus of Hackney MP Diane Abbott’s visit to Mossbourne Community Academy.

The 20-year-old didn’t feature in a competitive game under O’s former head coach, but enjoyed working with him


Spurs came from behind to win away at Borussia Dortmund and confirm their place as winners of Group H


Mayor Phil Glanville has slammed the budget for doing next to nothing to help cash-strapped councils like Hackney.


Boyhood Arsenal fan and NBA star OG Anunoby wants to inspire the next generation of young Great British basketball players.

Third outing for Noel and friends is surprising in a good way – even (whisper it) fun.

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Most read

Show Job Lists