Labour has held on to two seats in a pair of by-elections in Hackney.

The party won both the Hoxton East & Shoreditch ward and De Beauvoir ward after the votes last Thursday (May 2).

The two council seats were vacated by Labour councillors Steve Race and Polly Billington earlier this year.

Both have been selected as Labour parliamentary candidates for constituencies outside of London at the next general election.

Faruk Tinaz won comfortably in Hoxton East & Shoreditch, receiving more than 1,000 votes more than his nearest challenger – Liam Davis of the Green party.

Before his election, Cllr Tinaz said he was committed to working with police and local organisations to improve community safety, and collaborating with residents and businesses to ensure the night-time economy works for everyone.

He will now join Labour’s Cllr Kam Adams and Cllr Anya Sizer in representing the ward on Hackney Council.

The race in De Beauvoir was much closer, with Jasmine Martins edging out the Green party’s Antoinette Fernandez by fewer than 120 votes.

Before her election, Martins said she was committed to securing the future of community spaces in the borough, backing the Hackney Green New Deal, and engaging with residents on housing issues.

She will now represent the ward alongside Labour’s Cllr Joe Walker.

The double by-election coincided with the votes for London Mayor and the London Assembly.

These saw Sadiq Khan re-elected for a third term as Mayor, with Labour winning the most seats in the Assembly.

Here are the results of the two Hackney Council by-elections in full.

Hoxton East & Shoreditch

Faruk Tinaz (Lab) – 1,587

Liam Davis (Green) – 560

Samuel Iheanyi Adele (Con) – 318

Becket John McGrath (Lib Dem) – 217

De Beauvoir

Jasmine Martins (Lab): 1,316

Antoinette Fernandez (Green): 1,197

Tareke Jay Antonio Gregg (Con): 174

Thrusie Maurseth Cahill (Lib Dem): 129