The candidates for two upcoming by-elections in Hackney have been revealed.

The votes in Hoxton West and Cazenove bring the total number of by-elections in the borough this year to five.

Labour councillor Yvonne Maxwell resigned her Hoxton West seat on April 26, and her colleague Eluzer Goldberg stood down in Cazenove the following month.

The reasons for Maxwell's resignation are not clear, but announcing her decision on X, she said – “to quote Tony Benn … ‘free at last’”.

Goldberg also posted to X confirming his resignation. He said that he decided to step down after “much reflection and considering family commitments and work schedule”.

Voters in Cazenove have already gone to the polls this year, electing Conservative councillor Ian Sharer in January in another by-election.

The upcoming elections will be held within a week of each other, with the vote in Cazenove coinciding with the general election on July 4.

The candidates for the Hoxton West by-election, which will take place on June 27, are listed below in alphabetical order by surname.

Hoxton West

  • Cheuk Ting Ho – Green Party
  • Farhan Jaisin – Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Ben Lucas – Labour Party
  • Geoffrey Payne – Liberal Democrats

The candidates for the Cazenove by-election, which will take place on July 4, are listed below in alphabetical order by surname.


  • PH Ken Gabbott-Rol – Liberal Democrats
  • Faisal Riyaj Ibji – Independent
  • Tamara Micner – Green Party
  • Hershi Moskovits – Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Patrick Pinkerton – Labour Party