Hackney Council by-election: Candidates announced for Victoria ward

Hackney Town Hall in Mare Street.

Hackney Town Hall in Mare Street. - Credit: Archant

Candidates from all the main parties have been announced ahead of a by-election in Victoria Ward.

Voting will take place on October 18, following the resignation of Cllr Alex Kuye because of ill health.

May’s mayoral candidate Harini Iyengar has thrown in her hat as the Women’s Equality Party candidate, while former councillor Christopher Sills is standing for the Tories.

Pippa Morgan has been named as the Lib Dem’s candidate and hopes to provide a shake-up in the council only being made up of councillors from both Labour and the Conservatives, which she dubs “two illiberal Brexit supporting parties”.

The Greens have selected Wendy Robinson, and Penny Wrout is standing for the incumbent Labour position.

Labour’s Katie Hanson and Clare Joseph are the other two councillors for the ward.

The deadline to register to vote with Hackney Council is midnight on October 2.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter