Pacifist meeting that ended in riots will discussed on De Beauvoir history tour
PUBLISHED: 15:00 06 February 2014 | UPDATED: 15:00 06 February 2014
A two-hour guided walk next Sunday will reveal the fascinating history of De Beauvoir, from a meeting of pacifists which ended in a riot, to the home of the 19th century's answer to David Attenborough.
Modern architecture designed by David Adjaye will also get a look in on the tour led by local residents Paul Bolding and Andrew Brooke.
The route will go past a demolished church in Southgate Road where the 1907 congress of exiled Russians including Stalin, Lenin and Trotsky, was held, which eventually led to the formation of the Soviet Communist Party.
The former place of worship also hosted a meeting of pacifists in 1917 which bizarrely ended in a riot.
A house in Mortimer Road which boasts the only genuine blue plaque in the area will also be pointed out as the home of Philip Henry Gosse, a leading 19th century naturalist.
Discussion will also focus on the origins of the area in the Baumes Estate, which was based around a grand house that would be in the middle of today’s De Beauvoir Estate.
To join the walk on Sunday February 9 at 2.30pm meet at the south gate of De Beauvoir Square.
The cost of £3 for adults and £1 concessions will to towards the De Beauvoir Association.