Residents awarded for their positive role in community

Hackney Homes Residents Award

Hackney Homes Residents Award - Credit: Archant

Residents who have gone the extra mile have been recognised for positive contributions to their local communities at a special ceremony.

More than 100 people who were involved in a variety of community engagement projects attended the celebration for the Hackney Homes Active Residents Awards at Stoke Newington Town Hall on May 21.

More than 80 nominations were received across four categories: Young Resident of the Year; Resident of the Year, Community Project of the Year and the Ron Devoti Award for long service to the borough.

Clapton resident Mavis Mcgee, chairman of the Clapton Neighbourhood Panel and member of Landfield Tenants and Resident’s Association (TRA), received the award for long service to Hackney.

Ms McGee said: “I love this event, it’s a nice gathering to meet people from estates we didn’t know.

“This award was unexpected. I enjoy getting involved in the community because I want to improve the place I live in and make a difference.”

The Resident of the Year honour was awarded to chairman of High Hill TRA, Shade Ajigbeda who has been involved in community schemes, including the development of youth programmes after recognising a need for more activities for young people.

Most Read

Ms Ajigbeda said: “I’m honoured and humbled to have been nominated and actually win. Thank you for recognising all our hard work. It was definitely worth it. It’s not where you live it’s how you live. We need to keep improving our community to help the next generation.”

Other winners on the night included Rochelle Edwards Boyce for the Young Resident of the Year and Wenlock Barn Youth Forum for the Community Project of the Year.

TV personality and Mastermind Champion Shaun Wallace, was a guest speaker at the event and talked about how his formative experience as a teacher in Hackney for 14 years encouraged his driven mindset.

Cabinet member for housing, Cllr Philip Glanville, presented the award for Community Project of the Year and said: “I’d like to congratulate all those nominated and pay tribute to the fantastic winners.”