Tottenham and France captain Lloris wins World Cup
PUBLISHED: 10:00 16 July 2018
PA Wire/PA Images
The Spurs goalkeeper made a mistake against Croatia, but it didn’t stop him lifting the trophy at full time
Spurs captain Hugo Lloris got his hands on the World Cup on Sunday evening after France defeated Croatia 4-2 in a high-scoring final.
It wasn’t without controversy or embarrassment for the Tottenham Hotspur stopper, who made a gaffe to allow Mario Mandzukic to score.
Fortunately it was only a consolation for Croatia with the goal the last to be scored at the Luzhniki Stadium.
The deadlock was broken in the 18th minute when Antoine Griezmann’s free kick was inadvertently flicked in by Mandzukic.
Croatia equalised 10 minutes later though, when France failed to clear Luka Modric’s free kick and Ivan Perisic controlled and fired through a crowd of bodies to beat Lloris from inside the penalty area.
More drama was to occur in the first 45 as Video Assistant Referee (VAR) was called into play.
Perisic appeared to accidently handle the ball, but referee Nestor Pitana decided to award a penalty after much deliberation.
Griezmann stepped up and coolly slotted home to make it 2-1 to Didier Deschamps’ men in the 38th minute.
After the interval, Croatia pushed for a way back into the game and Lloris had to save an effort from Ante Rebic.
France then showed their class with Paul Pogba grabbing their third with a curled shot past Danijel Subasic and it was 4-1 when Kylian Mbappe drilled home from range.
Then Lloris ensured a slightly nervy finale with a terrible misjudgement inside his own penalty area.
After receiving a back pass, the Spurs goalkeeper tried to knock the ball past Croatia forward Mandzukic when he could have easily passed the other way.
The tall Juventus striker managed to intercept the attempted trickery and diverted the ball into the France net.
It ensured with 21 minutes left, the World Cup final was not over yet, but despite lots of possession, Croatia couldn’t find a way past Lloris again.
Eventually the full time whistle was blown to give Les Bleus just their second victory at a World Cup and first for 20 years.
Lloris got his hands on the trophy soon after to cap a fantastic tournament for him on a personal note despite his gaffe.
If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Hackney Gazette. Click the link in the yellow box below for details.